Leave a comment

Roll With It

{This is a preview of one of the chapters of a book I will be releasing in August.  It was written a while ago, but I have done some editing to update it.  Hope you enjoy.}

There is something to be said for efficiency.  Unfortunately you cannot say it about me.  I am not efficient.  I work fast and get the job done, but not efficiently.  When it came time to move our stuff to our temporary home though, I knew exactly who to call.  I called my friends that had helped others move.  Most importantly I called Eddie.  Eddie is that guy that knows a lot about everything.  I mean really knows it, he’s not someone who thinks he knows it, he really knows what he is talking about.  So I called him to help us move.  He showed up at 8:00 in the morning ready to go.  And he helped us move everything in our house out by noon.  There were a few odds and ends left but the house was pretty much empty.  So was my energy level.  I was beat down and tired.  Phase one was complete we were in our temporary home and happy to be mold free.  I told you I was not efficient. I also don’t always think everything through before I do it.

When it came time to move from our temporary home to our new home I made the mistake of not calling Eddie.  I figured he had done enough and that I could handle the rest.  So Michelle and I moved our furniture, with some help from our youth group, into the new house.  We had everything in but our washer and dryer.  So Monday afternoon I decided I, yes I alone, would go and load the washer and dryer into my truck and take it to the new house myself.  If the word mistake has not flashed through your brain yet give it time.  I knew I couldn’t lift the washing machine or the dryer up so I devised a series of ramps that went into the bed of my truck.  (Why do I hear you laughing?).  I then proceeded to put the washing machine in first.  I put the machine on the dolly and began to pull it up the ramps.  I was almost there when something peculiar happened.  Gravity!  I lost the momentum I had and when I tried to put my foot on the flat of the tailgate I missed.

Now I would love to tell you that my first thought was to land on my feet.  But that would be a lie.  My first thought was to stop the washing machine from falling.  Which when you are airborne does not work very well.  In fact it works very poorly and not at all.  The dolly came out of my hands and I proceeded to make a not so graceful fall on my back, first on the corner of my truck and then face first to the concrete driveway.  Meanwhile the washing machine gracefully slid to a halt at the bottom of the ramp.

I was a fairly young man so I was not hurt badly, but my pride was pounding in agony.  The sad thing was that in my own vanity I looked around to see if anyone else saw me fall.  I made it to my feet, stood the washing machine back upright, then walked to our new house to get someone to help me.  Not one of my better moments.  I should have called Eddie.

How many times have you done something similar?  Not by falling off a truck that’s beside the point.  I mean, how many times have you known whom to call and not done it?  How many times has it backfired on you?  How many times have you ended up face down on the ground wondering if anyone saw you and if you can stand back up?

It has probably happened more times than you really care to admit.  The fact is human nature makes us feel independent.  It makes us feel like we can make it on our own.  But we can’t.  This world is too big for what we have to do with it.  We have to have help.  We have to know whom to call on.  I can remember when I was a new Christian I would pray about everything and ask God for advice no matter what the situation was.  But as I grew in knowledge I stopped asking questions.  I stopped longing to hear God’s advice.  That’s where I went wrong.  I started to think that I knew it all.  I don’t know it all.  In fact I know very little.  If you read the opening of this chapter you knew that much about me.

Jeremiah records God’s voice saying this, “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” (Jer. 33:3 NIV).  God has the answers for which you seek.  You have to call on Him for the answer.  Life is too short not to make the right call in your life.  Stop trying to lift the washing machine by yourself and call Eddie.  Stop trying to manage your way through life without help and call on God.  Don’t just roll with it… win it.  You are not all powerful, God is.  You are not all knowing, God is.  Call on Him and He will give you what you need.

Leave a Reply

